Mathematics

Faculty & Administration

Saint Peter’s faculty members are scholars and expert teachers. They are interested in preparing students for a lifetime of learning, leadership, and service in a global society.

Full-Time Faculty

  • John E. Hammett III

    Professor and Chairperson of Mathematics
    B.A., Drew University; M.S., Cornell University; Ed.D., Rutgers.
    Office: Loyola Hall Rm 22
    Email: jhammett@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6349


    Jessica Kennedy
    Administrative Assistant
    Office: Loyola Hall, Room 22 or Room 10, Jersey City Campus

  • Rebecca Conley

    Assistant Professor of Mathematics
    B.A., Pace University; M.A., Hunter College; Ph.D., Stony Brook University.
    Office: Loyola Hall Rm 25
    Email: rconley@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6344

  • Brian P. Hopkins

    Professor of Mathematics
    B.A., B.S., University of Texas; Ph.D., University of Washington.
    Office: Loyola Hall Rm 24
    Email: bhopkins@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6351

  • Nickolas Kintos

    Associate Professor of Mathematics
    B.S., Rutgers; M.S., Ph.D., New Jersey Institute of Technology.
    Office: Loyola Hall Room 25
    Email:nkintos@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6348

  • Dawn Nelson

    Dawn Nelson

    Assistant Professor of Mathematics
    B.A., Williams College; Ph.D., Brandeis University.
    Office: Loyola Hall, Room 24
    Email: dnelson1@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6350

  • Michele Picarelli

    Assistant Professor of Mathematics
    B.S., Saint Peter’s College; M.S., Ph.D., New Jersey Institute of Technology.
    Office: Loyola Hall Room 25
    Email: mpicarelli@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6347

  • Gerard P. Protomastro*

    Professor of Mathematics
    B.A., Montclair State; M.A., Massachusetts; Ph.D., Clemson.
    Office: Loyola Hall Room 21
    Email: gprotomastro@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6345

  • Katherine M. Safford-Ramus*

    Professor of Mathematics
    B.S., Chestnut Hill College; M.A., Jersey City State College; Ed.D., Rutgers.
    Office: Loyola Hall Room 21
    Email: ksafford@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6342

  • Matthew Sequin

    Assistant Professor of Mathematics
    B.A., Boston College; Ph.D., Ohio State University
    Office: Loyola Hall Room 25
    Email: msequin@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6346

Adjunct Lecturers

  • Rudy A. Kelly, M.A.

  • James M. Kiernan, M.A.*

  • Paul Knox, M.B.A.

  • Bernard F. McNeilly, M.S.T.*

  • Fatma Mohamed, M.S.

  • Raymond Moonsammy, M.B.A.

  • Lamberto Nieves, M.S.*

  • Qamar Raza, M.S.

  • Robert Silvera, M.A.

  • Paul Simon, M.S.

  • Tushar Trivedi, M.S.W.

  • Joan Tully, M.A.

  • Joann Zarejko, M.A.

Emeritus Faculty

  • George P. Evanovich, Ed.D.

    Associate Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

  • B. Melvin Kiernan, Ph.D.*

    Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

  • Michael B. Sheehy, Ph.D.*

    Associate Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

  • Larry E. Thomas, Ph.D.*

    Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

Administration/Faculty

  • Eileen L. Poiani, Ph.D.*

    Professor of Mathematics

*Recipient of the Bene Merenti award for more than 20 years of service to Saint Peter’s University