INVEST Scholars Program

National Science Foundation

Project Award # 1660621

If you are majoring in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, or Physics and would like to work with the next generation of students, this might be an opportunity for you. The INVEST Scholars Program is focused on preparing talented undergraduates majoring in math and science who are interested in working with students in high need school districts.


  • Financial support which includes up to $15,000 annually in scholarship for the last two years of your program.
  • Participation in a paid four-week summer Immersion Program.
  • Enhanced teaching opportunities working with a math or science professor as a learning assistant.
  • Opportunities to work as a tutor in high-need school districts.
  • Mentoring by university faculty and public school teachers.


  • US citizen or national, or permanent resident alien.
  • Major in Biology, Chemistry, Physics or Mathematics.
  • Major GPA 3.3; Overall GPA 3.0.
  • Junior or Senior Standing.
  • Must sign an agreement to teach in a high-need school district for two years for each year of funding.

Application Process due by April 1, 2018

  • Complete the Application.
  • Write an Essay Detailing Interest in Teaching in a High Needs District.
  • 2 Letters of Recommendation from a STEM faculty and a professional who can attest to the applicant’s ability to work with children.
  • Submit Postsecondary Transcripts.

For Information:
Dr. John E. Hammett III, Lead PI at
Dr. Yosra Badiei, Co-PI at
Dr. Jennifer Ayala, Co-PI at
Dr. John Ruppert, Faculty Mentor at
Dr. Daniel Fried, Faculty Mentor at
Prof. James Jacobson, Director of Summer Immersion Internship Program at


Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program
The Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program “responds to the critical need for K-12 teachers of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) by encouraging talented STEM students and professionals to pursue teaching careers in elementary and secondary schools”. It was first authorized under the National Science Foundation Authorization Act of 2002.