Biology

Faculty & Administration

Saint Peter’s faculty members are scholars and expert teachers interested in preparing students for a lifetime of learning, leadership, and service in a global society.

Full-time Faculty

  • Held

    *Michael E. Held

    Department Chair and Professor of Biology
    A.B., Thomas More; M.S., Western Kentucky; Ph.D., Ohio University.
    Office: Room 115, Gannon Hall
    Email: mheld@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6432

  • Dr. Maria Agapito

    Assistant Professor of Biology
    Office: Room 206, Gannon Hall
    Email: magapito@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6428
    Webpage: https://agapitoma.wordpress.com

  • Jill E. Callahan

    Associate Professor of Biology
    B.A., Saint Anselm College; Ph.D. Virginia Commonwealth University.
    Office: Room 116, Gannon Hall
    Email: jcallahan@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6448

  • Christina M. Poli

    Instructor of Biology, Health Information Management Advisor, and Radiography Collaborative Program Advisor
    B.S., Fairleigh Dickinson University, M.S. Biology; Fairleigh Dickinson University.
    Office: Room 116, Gannon Hall
    Email: cpoli@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6439

  • Raleigh

    *Frances S. Raleigh

    Professor of Biology
    B.S., Marietta; M.S., Ph.D., SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry.
    Office: Room 113, Gannon Hall
    Email: fraleigh@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6435

  • Laura H. Twersky

    Professor of Biology
    B.A., Barnard; M.S., Ph.D., New York University.
    Office: Room 107, Gannon Hall
    Email: ltwersky@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6434

  • Wilmanski

    Jeanette Wilmanski

    Assistant Professor of Biology
    B.S., Saint Peter’s College; Ph.D., University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey.
    Office: Room 108, Gannon Hall
    Email: jwilmanski@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6436

  • Katherine S. Wydner

    Associate Professor of Biology
    B.A., Princeton; Ph.D., Rutgers.
    Office: Room 112, Gannon Hall
    Email: kwydner@saintpeters.edu
    Phone: (201) 761-6438

Adjunct Lecturers

  • Joseph Capasso

  • Edward Catherina D.C.

  • Alejandro Henao, M.D.

  • Christopher Pellino, D.C.

  • Jonathan Pereira, M.D.

  • Matthew Ponzio

*Recipient of the Bene Merenti award for more than 20 years of service to Saint Peter’s University