Jesuit Identity

Mission Examen

The Mission Examen is a self-study process that Saint Peter’s University is undertaking during the 2017-2018 Academic Year. The process is co-chaired by Rev. Rocco C. Danzi, S.J., Vice President for Mission and Ministry, and Dr. Mary Ellen Hamilton of the Psychology Department. They are helped by a representative group of faculty, staff and students that form the core team of the Mission Examen Committee. Their names are listed elsewhere on this site.

The Mission Examen process is mandated by the Superior General of the Jesuits, Very Rev. Arturo Sosa, S.J., at the request of the Holy See’s Congregation of Catholic Education. In a nutshell it seeks to determine if the Saint Peter’s University Community is interested in maintaining its Jesuit and Catholic identity in the future and how that identity can be bolstered. It involves a year-long process of examining the seven characteristics of Jesuit higher education (see the document below) by the Saint Peter’s University Community and culminates with a site visit by a team of Jesuits and lay colleagues of the UNE and Maryland Provinces of the Society of Jesus in April of next year. The Mission Examen is not a Jesuit form of Middle States accreditation. It is less cumbersome than the Middle States process.

Executive Summary (PDF)
Seven Characteristics of Jesuit Higher Education (PDF)
Mission and Ministry on Blackboard

University Members of the Examen Committee


Rev. Rocco C. Danzi, S.J., Vice President of Mission and Ministry
Dr. Maryellen Hamilton, Professor and Chair of the Psychology Department

Faculty and Staff

Dr. Virginia Bender, Assistant to the President for Planning and Chief of Staff
Ms. Christine Boyle, Director of Campus Ministry
Mr. David Bryngil, Executive Director of Wellness & Student Life Engagement Facilities
Rev. Claudio M. Burgaleta, S.J., Rector of the Jesuit Community and Special Assistant to the VP for Mission and Ministry
Mr. Raymond Butkus, lecturer in Business Administration
Dr. Kari Larsen, Director of Graduate Criminal Justice Programs and Chair of the Department of Criminal Justice
Mrs. Elizabeth Long, Payroll Manager, Finance Department
Dr. Joseph McLaughlin, Professor and Chair of the Department of Sociology and Urban Studies
Dr. Lisa O’Neill, Professor and Chair of the Department of Philosophy
Dr. Eileen Poiani, Special Assistant to the President
Ms. Jan Reimer, Director of Leadership Engagement, Center for Leadership Engagement and Wellness


Jah Fear Toler, Class of 2021
Theamaris Ramirez, Class of 2020
Jonathon Carrero, Class of 2019
Veramarie Jimenez, Class of 2018

Members of the Visiting Team

Dr. Joseph DeFeo – Executive Director, Ignatian Colleagues Program, AJCU
Dr. Nicki Gonzales – Associate Professor of American History, Regis University
Rev. Daniel Joyce, S.J. – Executive Director of Mission Programs & The ACESJU Education Fellows, Saint Joseph’s University
Dr. Amanda Thomas – Chair of the Visiting Team – Interim Academic Vice President & Professor of Psychology, Loyola University Maryland