Guarini Institute for Government and Leadership

Country Selection Process

Country Selection Process

  1. We will begin making country assignments on a first come first served basis as soon as we receive your completed conference registration forms and delegate roster. 
  2. Each country should have at least one but no more than two delegates representing it in each of its assigned committees.
  3. Representation of countries on HSMUN’s committees will reflect the actual membership on the respective actual UN committees, therefore your assigned country may not have a seat in every committee, though all countries assigned will be on a minimum of six committees.

General Assembly:

  1. Disarmament and International Security
  2. United Nations Human Rights Council

Economic and Social Council Committees:

  1. Commission on the Status of Women
  2. United Nations Economic, Social and Cultural Organization
  3. World Health Organization

Joint Committees: 

  1. United Nations Environment Assembly
  2. United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

Security Council:

Permanent Members:

  • Chna
  • France
  • Russian Federation
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Non-Permanent Members:

  • Belgium
  • Dominican Republic*
  • Estonia
  • Germany
  • Indonesia
  • Niger
  • Saint Vincent & the Grenadines*
  • South Africa
  • Tunisia
  • Vietnam*

* Since representation of these countries on the other committees is small, representatives for these countries on the Security Council will be assigned as additional delegates to other delegations. Thus, your school might be representing Brazil, but also have a seat on the Security Council as Vietnam.

Each country should be represented by at least 7 but not more than 16 delegates. Larger delegations will be encouraged to take more than one country. The Secretariat will consider allowing you to bring fewer than 7 delegates to represent a country. This exception does not apply to countries sitting on the Security Council. A final decision will be delivered along with confirmation of your country assignment.