Adult Students Recognized for their Accomplishment at SPCS Michaelmas Convocation


The School of Professional and Continuing Studies (SPCS) recently celebrated Michaelmas Convocation, an annual event that awards students who have exhibited exceptional work and received high GPAs. Students from both the Jersey City and the Englewood Cliffs campus were honored.

“Today, the majority of our students work full-time, have family responsibilities, or are here to complete degrees which may have been started as long as 40 years ago,” said Elizabeth Kane, M.B.A., dean of the School of Professional and Continuing Studies.

The celebration acknowledged students who maintained a GPA of 3.7 or higher while taking six credits every eight weeks with gold and silver award medals presented by Eugene J. Cornacchia, Ph.D., Saint Peter’s University president. Katie Seecharan, Sylvan Serrano, Isaaida Carmona-Belliard, Michelle Mills, Edgar Pachay and Shantee Rose were the awardees.

Katie Seecharen was presented with the McCaffery award. In memory of Professor John J. McCaffery, adjunct in the Department of Business Administration, this award is presented to an evening session senior for excellence in business administration and potential for professional growth. In addition, Isaaida Carmona-Belliard was awarded the Robert Rigby Urban Services Award. In memory of Robert Rigby ’69, a Saint Peter’s University graduate and longtime director of Public Housing in Jersey City, this award is given to urban studies and public policy students who will be performing internships to improve people’s lives in urban areas.

The students who were named to the Dean’s List were presented an award from Frederick Bonato, Ph.D., provost and vice president for academic affairs. They included Adam McKenzie, Alice C. Flanigan, Ameerah Dunn, Angelo Accetta, Antonella Bove, Caroline Garcia, Cheryl Johnson, Cynthia Felder, Edgar Pachay, Erika Deuel, Iridianny Arias, Isaaida Carmona-Belliard, Janet Villanueva, Jasmin Gonzalez, Jennifer Torres, Jermaine Battle, Johalma Alfaro, Kahlilah Adams, Kathy Munoz, Kiana Fitchett, Leslie Tordoya, Lia Sirmans, Margaret Figueroa, Maria Masilang, Marian Gracia, Marilu Ferrer, Melisa Black, Myron Fairley, Natalie Ara, Navjeet Thind, Rachael Acevedo, Rolanda A. Holder, Saffire Sistrunk, Shaleka Smith, Shantee Rose, Shonika Holman, Stephanie Perez, Teresa Cantos, Terry Lambert-Bradford, Tiffany Johnson and Tonisha Peterson.

The following School of Nursing and School of Professional and Continuing Studies students were induced into Sigma Phi Sigma, the local chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda, the national honor society for adult students: Amber Doreen, Cynthia Felder, Isaaida Carmona-Belliard, Diane Lang, Jaime Londono, Janet Villanueva, Kia Highsmith, Marilu Ferrer, Myron Fairley, Roxanne Rodney-Gittens and Sally Vizueta.

To learn more about SPCS visit their website here or contact Elizabeth Kane at