Academics

Transformative Experiences (TREX) Program

Transformative Experiences (TREX) Program
The TREX program is an opportunity for students in STEM majors (Biology, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Physics, and Mathematics) to engage in a paid internship program that also counts for academic credit.

Benefits

Selected students will participate in a funded internship. Participating in these internships provides students with the following benefits:

  • Financial support of up to $1500 to overcome any financial barrier and allow students to partake in unpaid internships.
  • Opportunity of hands-on-experience, which will elevate students’ career aspirations and improve their chances of job placement in the future.
  • Opportunity for coordinated mentorship. Selected students will have a multiple mentor network (faculty, internship supervisor, and internship coordinator) to support them during the application process and throughout their internship.

Eligibility

  • US citizen or national, or permanent resident alien.
  • Major in Biology, Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Physics or Mathematics.
  • Overall GPA 2.5 or greater.
  • Junior/Rising Junior (after completing 60 credits). Eligible seniors will be considered if space allows.
  • Preference will be given to low income students (Pell grant recipients).

Application

  • Online application form
  • Deadline: November 18th, 2019
  • Complete the Application before the deadline
  • Resume and Unofficial Transcript (PDF file) will need to be included in application.
  • Selected applicants will need to complete a mandatory orientation session and will be invited to provide feedback upon completion of the internship.
National Science Foundation

Project Award # 1832464

TREX Team

Dr. Jeanette Wilmanski, Associate Professor of Biology, at jwilmanski@saintpeters.edu
Dr. Yosra Badiei, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, at ybadiei@saintpeters.edu
Dr. Jennifer Ayala, Professor of Education, at jayala@saintpeters.edu
Dr. John Ruppert, Assistant Professor of Biology, at jruppert@saintpeters.edu
Daryl Levy, Director of Employer Relations, at dlevy@saintpeters.edu
Tatiana Gaona, M.Div., M.A., STEM Internship Coordinator, at tgaona@saintpeters.edu

For more information, please contact
Tatiana Gaona, M.Div., M.A.
STEM Internship Coordinator
tgaona@saintpeters.edu